Tom Waits
The Complete VH1 Storytellers
Burbank Airport
Los Angeles, CA
April 1, 1999
SBD > Non-Broadcast Tape > ??? CDR > Remaster (Cool Edit Pro 2.1)  > shn (mkw Audio Compression Tool)

Remaster Notes:
After recieve various flawed copies of this set, I decided to do 
a little research.  As it turns out, the copy the generally circulates 
contains various digital copy errors throughout, though most noticable 
on the end of disc 1.  With the impossibility of obtaining a clear copy 
of it, I took upon myself the laborious task of remastering these discs.  
The first step was to listen through with my headphones and remove all 
of the skips, gaps, and other bizarre problems that had been introduced 
onto the discs.  Tracks 10 and 11 on the first disc were especially 
difficult, and a close listen will still reveal a few imperfections 
scattered throughout.  I didn't want to alter the original too much, 
so the really tough ones remain.  No noise reduction or EQ of any kind 
was performed.  While these discs are still not perfect, this version is 
a hell of a lot better than the versions that I was able to find circulating 

Performance Notes:
I had a difficult time writing a review of this concert as I was listening 
to it because I was simply laughing too hard.  While many performers have 
a hard time with the Storytellers format, Tom really flourishes, making the 
most of each opportunity to tell one of his hilarious stories that sometimes 
have a little to do with the lyrics and sometimes nothing at all.  Mule 
Variations is one of my favorite Waits albums, and my three favorite songs 
on it are included here.  The version of Tom in his 1999 voice performing 
Ol' 55 (and the hilarious story that preceeds it) is priceless.  The band 
is excellent, the arrangements are tasteful and interesting, and the vocals 
are simply perfect.  I won't spoil it any more for those who have yet to hear 
this, but I will say that it should be one of the first Waits bootlegs you 
should have in your collection.
(Remastering and review by Stephen Pickett,

Smokey Hormel - Guitar, Banjo
Larry Taylor - Bass
Tom Waits - Piano, Vocals

Disc 1:
1. Tango 'Till They're Sore
2. Hang Down Your Head
3. Ol' 55
4. Strange Weather
5. Hold On
6. Picture in a Frame
7. Can't Wait To Get Off Work
8. House Where Nobody Lives
9. Get Behind the Mule
10. Chocolate Jesus
11. What's He Building?

Disc 2:
1. A Little Rain
2. Downtown Train
3. Black wings
4. Jesus Gonna Be There
5. Jersey Girl
6. Chocolate Jesus (versions 2 & 3)
7. Tango 'Till They're Sore
8. Hang Down Your Head